Keep swimming

IMG_20140221_215425_kindlephoto-39735132“Keep swimming”, my friend said as we were talking about life’s uncertainties. What if things don’t work out?

What if the stuff I do between point A and point B is all for naught?

What if I go out on a limb and get stuck there all alone?

What if the risks I take leave me disappointed and alone?

“Keep swimming?” I thought. I have had a fear of swimming since a childhood trip to the ocean. We have a pool in the backyard and I won’t even jump off the diving board!

Still, I kept thinking about her advice over my fears and doubts and the words began to make sense.

Are you afraid of failure but uncomfortable with success? Is it safer to stay where you are than to go where God leads? There’s a secret inside every single one of us. It’s a little spark that’s ever present, waiting to be kindled. It’s that talent that you notice in others and say, ” Wow, that’s really cool, if only I could.”

Jump in. Be brave. Plunge into the waters of your God-given, uniquely you, beautifully designed plan. Then find your way to the surface buoyed and embraced by God. Just keep swimming in the sea of God’s grace, our confidence and strength.

Such confidence as this is ours through Christ…not that we are confident in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God.  II Corinthians 2:4-5

Maybe, just maybe,  this year I’ll jump off the diving board and rise to surface, swimming to the shallow end, my family cheering me on! 

 

Leave a Reply

