looking for feathers

Finding feathers

I looked for a feather yesterday. I needed a walk to remind me of God, of mama, of daddy, of my grandma.  I needed to be able to glance down and unexpectedly find a feather. Feather, red bird on a fence, penny on heads, sparrow careening towards a branch…something, anything  to remind me of God’s hand, God’s attentiveness to my seeking. I was looking and longing for reassurance that my prayers are heard and my heart is treasured, protected, cushioned, that I am loved.

No feather, no bird, no penny on heads.

So, I prayed for clarity and found it upon rising. I approached it cautiously; for it’s truth was stark… the answer to prayer, the reply to my search until I opened my heart and mind and soul and surrendered all. And I found all in Him.

“My heart is fully open to receive all He is and all He has for me. I receive the gracious gift of His heart today for He is a perfect father in every way…All good gifts come from His hand and His hand is stretched out to me, full and running over…everything I need is found in Him.” From love and provision affirmation

The Lord appeared to us, saying: I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness. Jeremiah 31:3

Leave a Reply

