Day 4: Looking for good: laundry lamenting

my beautiful children

my beautiful children

Today, I read from Lamentations as Jeremiah implored me to remember that God’s mercies endure and his faithfulness is great.

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. Lamentations 3:22

I was bogged down in laundry. Consumed, I thought. Yes, I am consumed with laundry! The sky was a glorious blue and the air was crisp and clear to breathe in. Yet, I was on load three and had the vacuum cleaner out still in my PJ’s at 1:00.

I see my son, freshly showered and he reminds me we are supposed to go shopping. I finish up and shower and dress quickly, to spend a day with my 17-year-old.

I almost complained, I thought about ranting, moaning, complaining about the laundry. I even typed a Facebook post of   “I don’t think Jeremiah knew about laundry when he talked about the Lord’s mercies being new every morning because the only thing new here are socks underwear and towels…every morning!” As if calling Jeremiah out about laundry would make me feel better. Of course not, I hit Delete Post and headed back to change out the loads.

And now, Saturday night and my house is clean. My son and I shopped and had pizza together. My daughter, after searching through her laundry and finding her cute cardigan, had a spectacularly  beautiful college football day. She was beautiful and happy! After a day of  winding through country roads with her country man she will come home to  her pretty little bedroom…clean sheets, emptied trash and laundry done. My son, surrounded by friends and the first bonfire of the year on this beautiful, brightly moonlit night.

God is good. Laundry is unending; but,God is good.

His compassions are new every morning.

Leave a Reply

