The catalyst, Colt

Photo credit - my beautiful school teacher daughter aka the Dog Whisperer

Photo credit – my beautiful school teacher daughter aka the Dog Whisperer

Most situations, crises, questions to be answered, issues resolved have a turning point…a turning of stubborn will or surrender and acceptance.

A tipping point, catalyst, straw- breaking camel’s back revelation.

Colt, a chocolate lab was I thought, the catalyst for us.

He almost went back to the shelter.

Me, in “I’ll show you.” mode.

My stubborn, I’ll show you ways almost made a point.

More than surrendering a shelter dog.

So much more about to be thrown back, given up on.

I am prone to making points and then quietly walking away.

Points that solve very little but make big statements.

Statements that say, “No more!  I am standing up for me!”.

Statements that are quick and decisive, for the sake of the upper hand.

Years of trauma make acceptance and waiting hard.

We kept Colt.

The catalyst, not a breaking point.

He’s settled in. So have I.

Into a bending.

A beautiful bending, a “Keeping”

Colt, the catalyst, the big change.

Yet the Lord longs to be gracious to you; He rises to show you compassion. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for Him. Isaiah 30:18

2 thoughts on “The catalyst, Colt

Leave a Reply

